George R. Terry Book Award Information

The Academy of Management's 2020 George R. Terry Book Award was presented at the 80th Annual Meeting on  August 10, 2020.

The Terry Book Award is granted annually to the book judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to the global advancement of management knowledge during the last two years. Books that contribute to the advancement of management theory, conceptualization, research, or practice are eligible for this prestigious award. To be considered for this award, submissions must be authored books (not edited books or textbooks) published within the preceding two years.

Terry Book

2021 Nominations Process

SUBMIT NOMINATIONS: Please complete the Terry Book Award Nomination Form to register your nomination with the Academy of Management offices.

SEND BOOKS: An electronic copy of each nominated book must be sent to each member of the award committee for review. Electronic versions are required upon book submission. E-versions are necessary due to our COVID-19 reality. Please submit e-copies to; hard copies may be additionally requested. Award judges agree that they will not distribute the e-book files they receive from publishers for award consideration.

DEADLINE: The Committee must receive delivery of the nominated books in e-version by March 5, 2021.

For more information, please contact Michael McShane at the Academy's office.


Learn more about past Terry Book Award winners:

2020 Award Winner and Finalists

2019 Award Winner and Finalists

2018 Award Winner and Finalists

2017 Award Winner and Finalists

2016 Award Winner and Finalists

2015 Award Winner and Finalists

2014 Award Winner and Finalists

2013 Award Winner and Finalists